SSRP – Education Program
Module 8 (Online Module)

Shoulder Diagnostic Imaging
Sunday, March 21, 2021

Time

Component

8:45 am – 9:00 am PST
(11:45 am – Noon EST)

Dr. Todd Marshall, FRCCSS(C)
Log on and Outline of days activities

9:00 am – 10:30 am PST
(Noon – 1:30 pm EST)

Dr. Tania Pringle, BPE, BA, DC, DACBR, FCCR(C)
Radiographic imaging of the Post-traumatic Shoulder.
(This presentation will not be recorded.)

10:30 am – Noon PST
(1:30 pm – 3:00 pm EST)

Dr. Varsha Kumar, BSc. (Hons), DC, DACBR, FCCR(C)
Normal MRI of the Shoulder and an introduction to Shoulder Labral Tears (This presentation will not be recorded.)

Noon – 12:30 pm PST
(3:00 pm – 3:30 pm EST)

Break

12:30 – 2:00 pm PST
(3:30 pm – 5:00 pm EST)

Dr. Stephen Kulbaba, BS, DC, DACBR, FCCR(C)
MR of the Sporting Shoulder - Uncuffed

2:00 pm – 3:30 pm PST
(5:00 pm – 6:30 pm EST)

Dr. Patrick Battaglia, DC, DACBR
The use of Diagnostic Ultrasound in the assessment of rotator cuff pathology

3:30 pm – 3:40 pm PST
(6:30 – 6:45 pm EST)

Dr. Todd Marshall, FRCCSS(C)
Wrap up

 

Bios

Dr. Tania Pringle, BPE, BA, DC, DACBR, FCCR(C)
Dr. Pringle graduated from CMCC in 2002 and was accepted into the radiology residency and began teaching. She graduated from the Fellowship program in 2005 and continued teaching at the college and began film reading privately. Dr. Pringle taught at CMCC for 17 years and was Department Chair for approximately 10 of those years. She left CMCC approximately 2 years ago, and continues her film reading practice while working in Quality Assurance at a WSIB orthopaedics clinic at a Toronto hospital. Dr. Pringle continues to teach through occasional CE talks and is currently the treasurer of the College of Chiropractic Radiologists Canada.

Dr. Varsha Kumar, BSc.(Hons), DC, DACBR, FCCR(C)
Dr. Varsha Kumar graduated from CMCC in 2011, upon which, she spent 2 years practicing in various multidisciplinary clinics in Toronto. She further perused her radiology residency in California where she spent many hours doing her placement at the Los Angeles County Hospital. She is currently a faculty radiologist, Program Coordinator of Diagnostic Imaging in Graduate Studies and Chair of Diagnostic Imaging in Undergraduate Studies at the Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College (CMCC).  As much as she enjoys training the undergraduate chiropractic students in radiology and supervising and mentoring the graduate students in their graduate rounds and research, she likes to keep her chiropractic clinical skills active and thus is a frequent instructor in the Clinical Sciences department at CMCC as well. Dr. Kumar is a strong advocator for evidence-based medicine and best practices.

Dr. Stephen Kulbaba, BS, DC, DACBR, FCCR(C)

  • Graduated from Northwestern College of Chiropractic in 1999
  • 1999-2002 - Completed a 3 year residency in diagnostic imaging at the Los Angeles College of Chiropractic/Southern California University of Health Sciences.  Residency training included rotations at the San Pedro Peninsula Hospital, University of Southern California, and the VA hospital in San Diego.
  • Completed the American Chiropractic Board of Radiology written and oral examinations and received his diplomate in Radiology in 2002.
  • Practiced with general and nighthawk teleradiology groups in Southern California, providing interpretations for medical, chiropractic, and allied health professionals in x-ray, MRI, and CT for private imaging facilities and emergency room teleradiology.
  • Involved in training residents in diagnostic imaging at Southern California University of Health Sciences.
  • Extensive experience with body MRI imaging, with particular expertise in multipositional upright weight bearing MRI.
  • Past member of the Southern California Musculoskeletal Society
  • Current President of the College of Chiropractic Radiologists of Canada

Dr. Patrick Battaglia, DC, DACBR
Dr. Patrick J. Battaglia is a clinician within Logan’s Integrative Heath Centers and assistant professor of radiology in the Doctor of Chiropractic program. He earned his Doctor of Chiropractic degree from Logan University in 2012, and subsequently completed a 3-year residency in diagnostic imaging, becoming board certified in chiropractic radiology in 2016. He has also completed a 1-year fellowship in diagnostic imaging, with emphasis on ultrasound of the musculoskeletal system.
Dr. Battaglia’s clinical interests include assimilating chiropractic care into traditional multidisciplinary medical settings, and implementing diagnostic ultrasound into routine musculoskeletal practice. His research interests include studying the sonoanatomy of various musculoskeletal structures, especially important structures of the arch of the foot in people with flatfoot deformity.

Registration fee: Residents and Students $95
Registration fee: Fellows $110
Registration fee: MDs and others $120